Advisory Plan Commission


  • 6 pm
  • 4th Monday of every month (unless there is an observed holiday)
  • Town Hall Council Room

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval:


  • Brett Scowden, President
    Term: 2019 to 2022   
  • Chris Worley, Vice President
    Term: 2018 to 2021
  • Troy Austin
    Term: 2022 to 2025
  • Richard Miller
    Term: 2019 to 2022
  • Shawn Pabst
    Term: 2022 to 2025
  • Matt Simpson
    Term: 2021 to 2024
  • Ryan DeYoung
    Term: 2021 to 2024

About the Advisory Plan Commission

The seven-member commission is responsible for adopting a comprehensive plan, zoning ordinances, and approving development plans. The following is the official deadline schedule for all public hearings to be heard before the Advisory Plan Commission. If you have questions regarding the dates on the schedule, please contact David Wilson at 317-852-1128.  Under Indiana law (IC 36-7-4-405), Plan Commissions are responsible for the following:

  • Approving development plans
  • Approving or denying proposals to subdivide land, based upon compliance with the subdivision control ordinance
  • Assigning street addresses
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the text of the zoning ordinance or subdivision control ordinance
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the zoning map (rezonings)
  • Preparing a comprehensive plan
  • Preparing a zoning ordinance and a subdivision control ordinance

Additional information regarding the function of the Plan Commission can be found in the Citizen Planner Training Manual on the Indiana Planning Associations website.